Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District

Policy Committee




The Policy Committee of the Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District met Thursday, November 21, 2013 at 3:30 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman, Harold Montgomery, called the meeting to order @ 3:31 p.m.  

Roll Call was taken with the following members present:  Gallia County: Harold Montgomery, James Allen, Lana Lane - Proxy for Barb Bradley, Michelle Miller, Randy Halley; Jackson County: Jerry Hall, Randy Heath, Greg Ervin, Kevin Aston (late for Roll Call), Roy Arthur, Tom Woltz (late for Roll Call); Meigs County:  Tim Ihle, Marilyn Anderson, Tom Anderson, Jon Jacobs, Mike Gerlach, Larry Marshall; Vinton County: Janelle McManis, Gerald Stewart – Proxy for Nick Rupert Sr.  Guests included:  Nick Rupert, Jr. and Bruce Downard of Rumpke.  District Staff present were Terri Marchi and Cindy Saltsman.


Old Business


Minutes of 7/25/13 were reviewed.  Jon Jacobs made a motion to accept 7/25/13 minutes Roy Arthur seconded the motion.  All were in favor, motion passed.


Terri Marchi introduced two new members of the Policy Committee:  Michelle Miller, who replaced Lorie Neal who passed away, Kevin Aston, who replaced Greg Ervin as Jackson County Health Commissioner and though he is not new to the Policy Committee, Greg Ervin replaced Tom Carlisle who also passed away.


Plan Comments  Terri Marchi said the Sub-Policy Committee (Harold Montgomery, Tom Woltz, Jon Jacobs, Mike Bledsoe) along with the Executive Committee (Harold Montgomery, Jerry Hall, Tim Ihle, Jerry Zinn) and our consultant met throughout the year in work sessions to come up with this Draft Plan.  The following is a guideline of the steps that are to be taken: 1) The Policy Committee approves this Draft Plan, 2)Send Draft Plan to OEPA for review, 3) Make EPA recommendation changes, 4) There will be a 30 day Public Comment Period, 5) Public Hearing on Public comments, 6) Policy Committee meets to consider pubic comments and changes to plan update and approve plan update, 7) Mail plan to required agencies for ratification (90 days), and 8) Goes back to OEPA for final approval.  We have to have 3 out of 4 of the largest municipalities (Gallipolis, Jackson, Middleport, McArthur), 3 out of 4 of County Commissioners, and 60% of all Trustees.  We need to have 60% yes votes come in; a non vote is considered a no vote.


Terri informed the Committee that the Board of Directors has entered into a contract with Rumpke for the collection of our Drop-off Sites.  The cost will be $237,510 annually plus a fuel surcharge, which we have guessed to be $275,510.  Our locations for the sites will remain the same with two new ones, one in Mercerville and the other in Tupper Plains.  There will be 5 containers here on the lot.  Rumpke will be placing their containers the end of December.  Our bins will be removed after the first of the year and should have all of them pulled and processed by January 10.  The district will be laying off 6 employees.  Job & Family Services will be coming soon to explain the process of unemployment to those affected soon.


Terri highlighted the Sections of the Plan to the Committee.  

Section 2 explains our Goals.  We have chosen Goal # 1 which is to provide Drop-off Sites to 90% of our district population with plastic, glass, steel, newspaper and aluminum to be recycled.

Sections 3 is a list of our Inventories.

Section 4 is our reference year, which is 2011.

Sections 5, 6, 7 & 8 are projections through 2029.

Section 8 has the Plan Budget and Carry-over Balances.  We are in the black at the end of 2029.

Terri said the Board of Directors has the right to change the plan budget as needed.  

She also explained that per instructions of our legal counsel, Bill Cole, the Remediation Fund will no longer be required in our Plan and the $300,000 set aside for that can be used elsewhere in our budget.


Randy Heath made a motion to accept Resolution 1113-A (to approve draft Plan and send to OEPA), James Allen seconded the motion.  Vote was done by Roll Call.  Harold Montgomery, yes; Jay Cremeens, not present; James Allen, yes; Lana Lane for Barb Bradley, yes; Michelle Miller, yes; Randy Halley, yes; Brett Boothe, not present; Jerry Hall, yes; Randy Heath, yes; Kevin Aston yes; Dan Lockard, not present; Tom Woltz, yes; Roy Arthur, yes; Greg Ervin, yes; Tim Ihle, yes; Mike Gerlach, yes; Larry Marshall, yes; Tom Anderson, yes; Jon Jacobs, yes; Marilyn Anderson, yes; John Musser, not present; Mike Bledsoe, not present; Jim Wooddell, not present; Janelle McManis, yes; Gerald Stewart for Nick Rupert, yes; Rex Phillips, not present; Matt Chesser, not present; Vicki Maxwell, not present.  Motion passed with 19 yes votes.


Randy Heath said he wanted to thank the staff and everyone that worked on the Plan.  They did a fine job.

With a motion by Jon Jacobs and a second by Roy Arthur, the Policy Committee adjourned at 4:04 p.m.










Gallia Jackson Meigs Vinton Solid Waste Management District * 1056 S. New Hampshire Avenue * Wellston, Ohio  45692 * 740-384-2164 *