Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District

Policy Committee




The Policy Committee of the Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District met Thursday, March 12, 2015 at 3:30 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman, Harold Montgomery, called the meeting to order @ 3:30 p.m.  

Roll Call was taken with the following members present:  Gallia County: Harold Montgomery, Steve Wallis, James Allen, Barb Bradley, Brett Boothe; Jackson County: Jerry Hall, Randy Heath, Greg Ervin, Kevin Aston (late for Roll Call), Roy Arthur, Tom Woltz; Meigs County:  Tim Ihle, Jon Jacobs, Mike Gerlach (late for Roll Call), Steve Swatzel; Vinton County: Mike Bledsoe, Janelle McManis, Cathi Mountjoy  for Vicki Maxwell.  Guests included:  Nick Rupert, Jr. of Rumpke.  District Staff present were Terri Marchi and Cindy Saltsman.


Old Business


Minutes of 5/8/14 were reviewed.  Jon Jacobs made a motion to accept 5/8/14 minutes Roy Arthur seconded the motion.  All were in favor, motion passed.


Chairman, Harold Montgomery wanted to thank everyone for their participation the last year and a half to get the Plan approved.


Terri Marchi welcomed Steve Wallis as a new member of the Policy Committee who replaced Jay Cremeans and noted that Sam Brady will be taking the place of Dan Lockard at his passing.


Plan Comments  Terri Marchi wanted to recognize and thank the planning committee of Tom Woltz, Jon Jacobs, Harold Montgomery, Jerry Hall, Tim Ihle and Jerry Zinn for their participation in helping with the Plan.  We must have the final plan submitted to EPA by the end of March for their 90-day review. Terri said she has no doubts that it will not be approved since we worked with officials very closely in the planning process.  Reference year in the Plan is 2011 and it is for fifteen years, with five-year updates.  Goals are for 90% of the population to have access to recycling, and we are currently meeting that goal.  The Plan also has a fifteen-year budget.  The timeline of the Plan was: 2/14 first draft to EPA; revisions were made; 30-day Public comment period March – April of 2014; there were no comments from the public; Plan was sent to all county boards of Commissioners, Cities, Villages and county Trustees to vote on; we had a 78% approval; Plan will be sent to EPA for final approval after today’s approval of Resolution 0315A.  

Harold Montgomery thanked Terri and Cindy for their work on this Plan.


Jon Jacobs made a motion to approve Resolution 0315-A (Send ratified Solid Waste Management Plan to OEPA for approval), Barb Bradley seconded the motion.  Vote was done by Roll Call: Harold Montgomery, yes; Steve Wallis, yes; James Allen, yes; Barb Bradley, yes; Michelle Miller, not present; Randy Halley, not present; Brett Boothe, yes; Jerry Hall, yes; Randy Heath, yes; Kevin Aston yes; Sam Brady, not present; Tom Woltz, yes; Roy Arthur, yes; Greg Ervin, yes; Tim Ihle, yes; Mike Gerlach, yes; Steve Swatzel yes; Tom Anderson, not present; Jon Jacobs, yes; Marilyn Anderson, not present; John Musser, not present; Mike Bledsoe, yes; Jim Wooddell, not present; Janelle McManis, yes; Gerald Stewart, not present; Rex Phillips, not present; Matt Chesser, not present; Cathi Mountjoy for Vicki Maxwell, yes.  Motion passed with 18 yes votes.


With a motion by Randy Heath and a second by Mike Gerlach, the Policy Committee adjourned at 3:41 p.m.