Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District

Policy Committee




The Policy Committee of the Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District met Thursday, December 15, 2011 at 3:00 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman, Harold Montgomery, called the meeting to order @ 3:00 p.m.  

Harold asked the Committee to review 10/5/11 minutes.

Roll Call was taken with the following members present:  Gallia County: Harold Montgomery, James Cozza, Doug Lester, Melissa Miller -  Proxy for James Allen, Barb Bradley, Brett Boothe (late for Roll Call); Jackson County: Jerry Hall, Randy Heath, Greg Ervin, Roy Arthur, Tom Carlisle, Tom Woltz; Meigs County:  Tom Anderson, Jon Jacobs, Marilyn Anderson, Keith Little -  Proxy for Larry Marshall; Vinton County: Janelle McManis, Gerald Stewart – Proxy for Nick Rupert Sr., Vicki Maxwell, Tim Eberts – Proxy for Mike Bledsoe, Rex Phillips.  Guests included:  Bill Cole, District Attorney; Bruce Downard & Nick Rupert, Jr. of Rumpke.  District Staff present were Terri Marchi and Cindy Saltsman.


Old Business


Minutes of 10/5/11 were reviewed.  Tom Woltz made a motion to accept 10/5/11 minutes, Jon Jacobs seconded the motion.  James Cozza asked if the times for Call to Order and Adjournment were correct.  Harold Montgomery said yes, it was a quick meeting. All were in favor, motion passed.


Director’s Report  Terri Marchi thanked everyone for their attendance.  Harold Montgomery introduced guests Bruce Downard and Nick Rupert, Jr.  Terri reported to the Committee that all the Boards of Commissioners approved the fee structure change, the largest municipalities and 67% of the legislative population approved the change.  Pending the vote today, the next process is within 14 days, sending the landfill owner/operators a certified letter stating that the fees will be lowered.  The law states that the fee change goes into effect the first day of the second month after notification (which will be February 1, 2012).

The next order of business for the Policy Committee will be the Plan Update.  The timeline by OEPA for that will be:  September of 2012 start the process, have a Draft Plan by December 2013, Final Plan to OEPA by March of 2015 and Approval of Plan by OEPA by June of 2015.






Harold Montgomery then went on the read Resolution 1211 – A, (attached as part of these minutes).

Randy Heath made a motion to adopt Resolution 1211 – A, Roy Arthur seconded the motion.  Vote to declare ratification of lowering the fee structure from $2/$4/$2 to $1/$2/$1 was done by Roll Call: Vicki Maxwell, yes; Matt Chesser, not present; Rex Phillips, yes; Gerald Stewart for Nick Rupert, yes; Janelle McManis, yes; Jim Wooddell, not present; Tim Eberts for Mike Bledsoe, yes; John Musser, not present; Marilyn Anderson, yes; Jon Jacobs, yes; Dave Weber, not present; Keith Little for Larry Marshall, yes; Mike Gerlach, not present; Tom Anderson, yes; Tom Carlisle, yes; Roy Arthur, yes; Tom Woltz, yes; Dan Lockard, not present; Greg Ervin, yes; Randy Heath, yes; Jerry Hall, yes; Brett Boothe, yes; Randy Halley, not present; Doug Lester, yes; Barb Bradley, yes; Melissa Miller for James Allen, yes; James Cozza, yes; Harold Montgomery, yes;  21 yes votes.  Harold Montgomery declared the Resolution approved.



With a motion by Randy Heath and a second by Roy Arthur, the Policy Committee adjourned at 3:13 p.m.










Gallia Jackson Meigs Vinton Solid Waste Management District * 1056 S. New Hampshire Avenue * Wellston, Ohio  45692 * 740-384-2164 *