Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District

Policy Committee




The Policy Committee of the Gallia, Jackson, Meigs & Vinton Solid Waste Management District met Wednesday, October 5, 2011 at 2:00 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman, Harold Montgomery, called the meeting to order @ 2:00 p.m.  

Roll Call was taken with the following members present:  Gallia County: Harold Montgomery, James Cozza, Jimmy Allen, Barb Bradley, Randy Halley; Jackson County: Jerry Hall, Randy Heath, Greg Ervin, Roy Arthur, Tom Woltz; Meigs County:  Jon Jacobs, Marilyn Anderson, Keith Little for Larry Marshall; Vinton County: Janelle McManis, Gerald Stewart for Nick Rupert Sr., Vicky Maxwell.  Guests included:  Carolyn Jacobs; Nick Rupert, Jr. of Rumpke; James Johnson, Milton Township Trustee.  District Staff present were Terri Marchi and Cindy Saltsman.


Old Business


Minutes of 8/10/11 were reviewed.  Greg Ervin requested a change in the grammar of a sentence in paragraph six, to read as follows: “It is structured in such a manner that will be acceptable to EPA”.  Randy Heath made a motion with the addendum to accept the minutes, Greg Ervin seconded the motion.  All were in favor, motion passed.


Terri Marchi informed the Committee that the 30 day public comment period concluded on September 26, 2011 and the Public Hearing was held on September 27, 2011.  Terri thanked Greg Ervin & Mike Bledsoe for attending the hearing.  There was no verbal or written input from the public.  We did hear from EPA on the budget revisions with a couple of suggestions but they were not in disagreement with the fee structure amendment.


Harold Montgomery then went on the read Resolution 1011 – A, (attached as part of these minutes).

Jon Jacobs made a motion to adopt Resolution 1011 – A, James Allen seconded the motion.  Vote to lower the fee structure from $2/$4/$2 to $1/$2/$1 was done by Roll Call: Vicki Maxwell, yes; Matt Chesser, not present; Rex Phillips, not present; Gerald Stewart for Nick Rupert, yes; Janelle McManis, yes; Jim Wooddell, not present; Mike Bledsoe, not present; John Musser, not present; Marilyn Anderson, yes; Jon Jacobs, yes; Dave Weber, not present; Keith Little for Larry Marshall, yes; Mike Gerlach, not present; Tom Anderson, not present; Tom Carlisle, not present; Roy Arthur, yes; Tom Woltz, yes; Dan Lockard, not present; Greg Ervin, yes; Randy Heath, yes; Jerry Hall, yes; Brett Boothe, not present; Randy Halley, yes; Doug Lester, not present; Barb Bradley, yes; James Allen, yes; James Cozza, yes; Harold Montgomery, yes;  16 yes votes.  Motion passed.


Terri Marchi then told the Committee of the next steps.  There will be a certified mailing to all Commissioners, Municipalities and Township Trustees with resolutions for them to approve or disapprove.  There will be a 60 day time period for those to be returned.  There has to be a majority vote from all Commissioners, a majority of the largest municipalities and 60 % of the Townships.  A non action constitutes a “yes” vote.  If approved, the landfill operators will be notified by certified mail.  The fees will change the first day of the second month after the landfill operators are notified, which will be February or March.


With a motion by Randy Heath and a second by Roy Arthur, the Policy Committee adjourned at 2:10 p.m.











Gallia Jackson Meigs Vinton Solid Waste Management District * 1056 S. New Hampshire Avenue * Wellston, Ohio  45692 * 740-384-2164 *